RENTERS’ REBATE FOR ELDERLY/DISABLED
PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION: State of Connecticut Office of Policy and Management (OPM)
Effective June 13, 2014: Recently passed legislation
(Public Act 14-217, Sections 48-53 and Section 258)
has re-opened the Renters' Rebate program to all
applicants, regardless of whether or not they received
a rebate grant the previous year.
The following is summarized from OPM's website:www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2985&q=383154&opmNav_GID=1807State law provides a reimbursement program for Connecticut renters who are elderly or totally disabled, and whose incomes do not exceed certain limits. Persons renting an apartment or room, or living in cooperative housing or a mobile home may be eligible for this program. Renters' rebates can be up to $900 for married couples and $700 for single persons. The renters' rebate amount is based on a graduated income scale and the amount of rent and utility payments (excluding telephone) made in the year prior to the calendar year in which the renter applies.
COST: No fee to apply
WHO IS ELIGIBLE?
- Recipient or spouse must be 65 years of age or older, OR be 50 years of age or older and the surviving spouse of a renter who at the time his death had qualified and was entitled to tax relief, provided such spouse was domiciled with such renter at the time of his death
- Or 18 years of age or older and permanently and totally disabled.
- Must meet a one year state residency requirement.
- Grants are based upon income. If applying in Year
2015, single person’s total income must be less than
$34,600; married person’s total income must be less
than $42,200 per couple.
- There is no asset restriction.
- Rebate amounts can range from $50-$900. To calculate the amount of the rebate 35% of rent plus utilities (but not including telephone) is compared to 5% of total income for the previous year. The difference is the amount of the rebate. Single person’s rebate is smaller than married person’s rebate.
HOW TO OBTAIN SERVICE: Apply between April 1 to October 1 at town assessor’s office. Some towns take applications at their human/social services departments.
TIMETABLE: Application period is:
April 1 through October 1
TO FIND PROVIDERS IN CONNECTICUT'S COMMUNITY
Search by service name: Rent Rebate Information
SOURCE: State of Connecticut Office of Policy and
PREPARED BY: 211/pt
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED: March2015