TAX EXEMPTIONS FOR BLIND OR TOTALLY DISABLED
The following information is
compiled from the "Disabled Tax Relief Program"
page on the State of Connecticut Office of
Policy and Management (OPM) website: www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2985&q=383142&opmNav_GID=1807
State law provides a $1,000
property tax exemption for Connecticut property
owners who are permanently and totally disabled.
Property owners must be at least 18 years old.
There is no income or asset restriction. This
program is administered by the State of
Connecticut Office of Policy and Management.
Property owners must provide
documentation proving legal blindness or
permanent disability to the town assessor's
office prior to October 1 of the year prior to
NOTE: Connecticut towns also provide a $3,000
exemption for property owners who are legally
blind. Check with your town's assessors office
to see if your town has additional tax
exemptions for residents with disabilities.
TO FIND PROVIDERS IN
CONNECTICUT'S COMMUNITY RESOURCES DATABASE:
Search by program name: Assessor
SOURCE: State of Connecticut
Office of Policy and Management
PREPARED BY: 211/pt
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED: July2012